## NYSEA News

Watertown Lodge #496 presented State Present David Carr and his wife Penny with an Elk print during a recent visit. Pictured with the Carr's are District Deputy Grand Exalted Ruler Ron Rockwood, State Vice President Joann Allen, Exalted Ruler Scott LaVere, print artist and Elk Paul Lee, Past State President Nelson Navarra and his wife Clelia, Past State President Tim Kelly and State Trustee Frank Turner.

The state elks memorial committee is pleased to announce the winners of the 2010-2011 Elks Memorial Service Contest C. We received a number of outstanding entries this year making the judging extremely difficult. Our congratulations go out to the following Lodges.

Division 1 (Lodges under 301 Members)

First Place Johnson City #2821 Second Place Saranac Lake #1508

Third Place Lyons #869

Division 2 (Lodges with 301 thru 500 members)

First Place (tied) Cohoes-Waterford #1317

First Place (tied) Camillus #2367 Third Place Niagara Falls #346

Division 3 (Lodges with 501 thru 700 Members)

First Place Mechanicville-Stillwater

Second Place Catskill #1341
Third Place Hudson #787

Division 4 (Lodges with 701 thru 1,100 members)

First Place Oswego #271

Second Place None Third Place None

There were not entries for Division 5 and 6 submitted for grading. We extend our sincere thanks and again congratulations to the winners and all that participated in the Contest. All awards will be given out at the Memorial Service workshop at the Holiday Inn on Grand Island, NY in September. You may also pickup all the booklets that were entered at that time.



The 2009 State Soccer Shoot was hosted by the Rotterdam Elks #2157. A rainy day did not dampen the competition. Our 2009 State winners were: Skylar Dinsmore U-8 girls from Saratoga-Wilton #161, Luke Shapiro U-8 boys from Saratoga-Wilton #161, Jennifer Bartlett U-10 girls from Guilderland #2480, Tommy Pendergrass U-10 boys from Saratoga-Wilton #161, Natalie Giglio U-12 girls from Ogdensburg #772, Jason Antalek U-12 boys from Beacon #1493, Lee Ann Dyson U-14 girls from Beacon #1493, and Jacob Dick U-14 boys from Plattsburg #621. These young athletes advanced to the Area One Soccer Championship in St. Albans, Vermont were Luke Shipiro (U8 boys) and Tommy Pendergrass (U10 boys) took first place honors. Our State champions are pictured with State Soccer Shoot Chair Patrick Mansfield and Youth Activities Chair Tim Welpe.



Ogdensburg Lodge # 772 hosted the Central Region semi-final Hoop Shoot at Ogdensburg High School. Pictured are regional winners: J. Gaffney (Vestal #2508I), G. Thomas(Owego #1039), D. Nolan (Camillus #236), I. Bishop (Owego #1039I), J. Khazzaka (Cortland #748) and J. Guitierrez (Oneonta #1312). They are pictured with Stuart Rishe- North Central District chair, Michael Dedicke – Central District chair and Past State President Tim Kelly. Guitierrez finished with a perfect score.